Research / Market tracker
AI Fraud & Identity Market Moves: September 2026
September 2026 has 58 verified moves: 13 funding moves, 1 M&A move, 16 product launches, 9 partnerships, 2 leadership moves, 2 research items, 2 regulation moves, 1 enforcement action, 12 other moves.
Last updated: October 31, 2026 · 58 verified moves
Monthly report: Everything I tracked in fraud x AI -- September report
Get every verified move in your inbox
Updated weekly on the site. Subscribers get the full tracker with our monthly report: the AI, fraud and identity deals, launches and rulings that matter, with sources. Join 5,600+ fraud and risk leaders.
Which companies raised money?
Funding · 2026-09-22
Baselayer raises $35M Series A and announces agent identity suite
Baselayer announced a $35 million Series A led by M13, alongside the launch of its Agentic Identity Suite for verifying and managing AI agents acting on behalf of people and businesses.
Source: Baselayer / PR Newswire
Funding · 2026-09-17
MIND raises $72M Series B for AI-native data loss prevention
MIND announced a $72 million Series B led by Crosspoint Capital Partners, bringing total funding to $112 million. Its platform focuses on protecting sensitive data across enterprise systems, including generative and agentic AI environments.
Source: MIND
Funding · 2026-09-15
AIUC raises $40M Series A
AIUC announced: AIUC raises $40M Series A.
Source: prnewswire.com
Funding · 2026-09-15
AIUC raises $40M Series A for frontier AI assurance
Artificial Intelligence Underwriting Company announced a $40 million Series A led by Ribbit Capital, with participation from First Harmonic and Terrain. AIUC develops independent audits, standards and insurance infrastructure for AI agents and frontier models.
Source: AIUC
Funding · 2026-09-10
KPMG takes minority stake in Reality Defender
KPMG LLP announced a minority equity investment in Reality Defender, a deepfake detection company. Financial terms were not disclosed. The investment supports KPMG's efforts to address AI-generated impersonation and synthetic media risks.
Source: KPMG
Funding · 2026-09-09
HelmGuard raises $7.3M Seed
HelmGuard announced: HelmGuard raises $7.3M Seed.
Source: securityweek.com
Funding · 2026-09-09
TRM Labs announces Series C expansion at $2B valuation
TRM Labs announced a strategic expansion of its Series C financing led by Blockchain Capital. The company reported a $2 billion valuation, double its February Series C valuation. The announcement did not disclose the expansion's dollar amount.
Source: TRM Labs
Funding · 2026-09-08
Blee raises $20M Series A
Blee announced: Blee raises $20M Series A.
Source: fintech.global
Funding · 2026-09-03
Guardio raises $40M at $1.1B valuation
Consumer cybersecurity company Guardio announced a $40 million financing round, bringing its total funding to $167 million and valuing the company at $1.1 billion.
Source: Guardio / PR Newswire
Funding · 2026-09-03
Guardio raises $40M at a $1.1B valuation
Guardio announced: Guardio raises $40M at a $1.1B valuation.
Source: siliconangle.com
Funding · 2026-09-01
Apate.AI raises $8.15M seed for scam-disruption agents
Apate.AI closed an $8.15 million seed round led by Lobby Capital to expand its conversational AI agents that engage scammers and gather intelligence. Investors included OIF Ventures, Investible, Concept Ventures and Baobab Ventures.
Source: FinTech Global
Funding · 2026-09-01
Instarc secures €1.25M strategic investment for compliance platform
Instarc secured a €1.25 million strategic investment led by HFO Investments to expand the commercial rollout of its cloud-native compliance platform in South Africa. The amount is denominated in euros; no USD equivalent is asserted.
Source: Tech.eu
Which companies were acquired or combined?
M&A · 2026-09-01
Mollie completes acquisition of GoCardless
Mollie announced the completion of its acquisition of GoCardless, combining card and local payment methods with bank payment infrastructure. The companies said the combined group serves more than 350,000 businesses across over 30 markets. The deal was originally announced in December 2025 and closed September 1, 2026.
Source: Mollie
Which products launched?
Product launch · 2026-09-23
Equifax launches email and device risk signals for automated fraud
Equifax announced Signal Score for Email and Signal Score for Device, tools intended to help businesses detect account takeover, synthetic identity and bot-driven fraud.
Source: Equifax Investor Relations
Product launch · 2026-09-17
Elliptic launches Decode agent for on-chain risk questions
Elliptic announced: Elliptic launches Decode agent for on-chain risk questions.
Source: elliptic.co
Product launch · 2026-09-17
Pelican AI launches Fraud Alerts Optimizer
Pelican AI announced: Pelican AI launches Fraud Alerts Optimizer.
Source: financialcontent.com
Product launch · 2026-09-16
Kybix launches AI-powered KYB information exchange
Kybix announced: Kybix launches AI-powered KYB information exchange.
Source: fintech.global
Product launch · 2026-09-16
Pindrop launches BotStopper to detect AI voice agents
Pindrop launched a standalone offering to identify automated callers and AI voice agents in real time, supported by an AI Voice Consortium registry of more than 5,000 AI voices.
Source: Pindrop / GlobeNewswire
Product launch · 2026-09-16
SEON launches Signal Intelligence
SEON announced: SEON launches Signal Intelligence.
Source: seon.io
Product launch · 2026-09-15
DigiCert launches AI Trust Manager for agent identities
DigiCert announced general availability of AI Trust Manager, a solution for discovering AI agents, establishing verifiable identities and ownership, managing authorization, and revoking trust.
Source: DigiCert / GlobeNewswire
Product launch · 2026-09-15
Proof launches reusable digital identity for banks
Proof announced general availability of its Verifiable Digital Credential, a portable identity designed for reuse across financial institutions following federal customer-identification guidance.
Source: Proof
Product launch · 2026-09-15
Sumsub launches Workforce Verification against AI-powered insider fraud
Sumsub announced: Sumsub launches Workforce Verification against AI-powered insider fraud.
Source: sumsub.com
Product launch · 2026-09-14
Jumio extends selfie.DONE reusable identity to APAC
Jumio announced: Jumio extends selfie.DONE reusable identity to APAC.
Source: jumio.com
Product launch · 2026-09-10
AU10TIX offers single platform for full age assurance journey
AU10TIX announced: AU10TIX offers single platform for full age assurance journey.
Source: au10tix.com
Product launch · 2026-09-10
Castellum.AI integrates Arbiter AI agents into LexisNexis Bridger Insight XG
Castellum.AI announced: Castellum.AI integrates Arbiter AI agents into LexisNexis Bridger Insight XG.
Source: fintech.global
Product launch · 2026-09-10
Shufti launches AI-powered transaction trust monitoring
Shufti announced Transaction Trust Monitoring, a fraud and AML monitoring engine with natural-language rule creation, backtesting, investigation workflows and human-authorized reporting.
Source: Shufti / GlobeNewswire
Product launch · 2026-09-09
Sumsub launches non-document Nordic eID verification bundle
Sumsub announced: Sumsub launches non-document Nordic eID verification bundle.
Source: sumsub.com
Product launch · 2026-09-03
Chainalysis adds automatic token monitoring for HyperEVM
Chainalysis announced support for HyperEVM tokens, including automatic coverage for ERC-20 and ERC-721 assets in its KYT transaction monitoring, entity screening and Reactor investigation products.
Source: Chainalysis
Product launch · 2026-09-01
Ping Identity launches Enterprise Personal Agent Access
Ping Identity announced Enterprise Personal Agent Access, delivered through PingOne Privilege, to discover personal AI agents, link agent sessions to users and devices, and enforce access controls at runtime in supported environments. The company said the capability was available and in enterprise pilots.
Source: Ping Identity
Which partnerships were announced?
Partnership · 2026-09-15
Aircash partners with Trustfull for fraud prevention and AML checks at onboarding
Trustfull announced: Aircash partners with Trustfull for fraud prevention and AML checks at onboarding.
Source: trustfull.com
Partnership · 2026-09-14
Trust Stamp expands partnership with ID Dataweb on biometric tokenization
ID DataWeb announced: Trust Stamp expands partnership with ID Dataweb on biometric tokenization.
Source: iddataweb.com
Partnership · 2026-09-11
Baselayer and Nevermined combine identity and payments for agentic commerce
Baselayer announced: Baselayer and Nevermined combine identity and payments for agentic commerce.
Source: baselayer.com
Partnership · 2026-09-08
FinScan partners with Quantifind on AI adverse media screening
FinScan announced: FinScan partners with Quantifind on AI adverse media screening.
Source: fintech.global
Partnership · 2026-09-08
Socure and NextgenID pair AI identity checks with IAL3 in-person proofing
Socure announced: Socure and NextgenID pair AI identity checks with IAL3 in-person proofing.
Source: prnewswire.com
Partnership · 2026-09-02
SEON partners with Exist Software Labs in Southeast Asia
SEON announced a partnership with Philippines-based systems integrator Exist Software Labs, bringing fraud prevention, identity verification and AML monitoring capabilities to clients across banking, fintech, payments and e-commerce in Southeast Asia.
Source: SEON
Partnership · 2026-09-01
AU10TIX and NEO partner on venue identity verification
AU10TIX and NEO announced a partnership to provide real-time identity verification for high-volume venues, including self-service experiences. The announcement appeared in AU10TIX's September 1 press releases.
Source: AU10TIX
Partnership · 2026-09-01
David's Bridal deploys Forter fraud platform in six days
Forter and David's Bridal announced that the retailer deployed Forter's fraud prevention platform in six days. The companies reported a 99.78% approval rate during the first two weeks following launch.
Source: Forter / PR Newswire
Partnership · 2026-09-01
GBG expands Intellias identity partnership and introduces Reach agent
GBG and Intellias expanded their collaboration to improve delivery of identity and fraud signals. GBG also introduced Reach, a data quality agent for policy-driven address verification within AI-agent workflows.
Source: Biometric Update
Who changed leadership?
Leadership · 2026-09-10
GeoComply promotes Steven Vo to Chief Technology Officer
GeoComply announced: GeoComply promotes Steven Vo to Chief Technology Officer.
Source: geocomply.com
Leadership · 2026-09-01
Ripjar hires new chief product officer and VP marketing
Ripjar announced: Ripjar hires new chief product officer and VP marketing.
Source: fintech.global
Which research was published?
Research · 2026-09-02
Incognia reports rising mule-account handover risk linked to scam compounds
Incognia published findings on cross-border account handovers and industrialized scam operations. The company reported that 81% of surveyed financial institutions saw rising mule-account handover fraud and 64% suspected or confirmed cross-border handovers. These are company-reported research findings.
Source: Incognia / PR Newswire
Research · 2026-09-01
FBI warns of persistent account access through OAuth consent phishing
The FBI's Internet Crime Complaint Center warned that attackers are tricking targets into authorizing malicious OAuth applications, granting access to accounts and data without stealing passwords. Revoking malicious app permissions is necessary to terminate that access.
Source: FBI IC3
Which rules or guidance were published?
Regulation · 2026-09-08
FinCEN clarifies digital credentials under bank identity rules
FinCEN and federal banking agency staff issued FAQs addressing use of state mobile driver's licenses and other government-issued verifiable digital credentials to verify customer identities under the Customer Identification Program rule.
Source: FinCEN
Regulation · 2026-09-02
FinCEN and banking agencies clarify SAR confidentiality in customer communications
FinCEN and federal banking regulators issued a joint statement clarifying that SAR confidentiality does not prevent banks from discussing underlying potentially fraudulent transactions, suspicious activity or account closures with customers. The statement does not change existing BSA requirements or create new supervisory expectations.
Source: FinCEN
Which enforcement actions were recorded?
Enforcement · 2026-09-04
FTC announces $4.85M Nuvei settlement over merchant fraud controls
The FTC announced a proposed settlement requiring Nuvei to pay $4.85 million and strengthen screening and monitoring of merchants. The agency alleged the processor facilitated payments for deceptive merchants, including tech-support scams. The allegations are not a court finding of liability.
Source: Federal Trade Commission
Which other verified moves were recorded?
Other · 2026-09-16
Blockaid brings real-time transaction protection to Arc with MetaMask
Blockaid announced: Blockaid brings real-time transaction protection to Arc with MetaMask.
Source: blockaid.io
Other · 2026-09-16
Facephi earns Pan-Canadian Trust Framework certification
Facephi announced: Facephi earns Pan-Canadian Trust Framework certification.
Source: facephi.com
Other · 2026-09-09
FOREWARN to provide identity verification to Pacific West Association of REALTORS
red violet (FOREWARN) announced: FOREWARN to provide identity verification to Pacific West Association of REALTORS.
Source: redviolet.com
Other · 2026-09-09
Onchain Monitoring: security that keeps pace with the onchain economy
Blockaid announced: Onchain Monitoring: security that keeps pace with the onchain economy.
Source: blockaid.io
Other · 2026-09-09
SpyCloud 2026 Identity Threat Report finds non-human identities lead path into enterprise
SpyCloud announced: SpyCloud 2026 Identity Threat Report finds non-human identities lead path into enterprise.
Source: spycloud.com
Other · 2026-09-08
Artea Bank moves to digital onboarding with Ondato
Ondato announced: Artea Bank moves to digital onboarding with Ondato.
Source: ondato.com
Other · 2026-09-07
Facephi runs third PAD-ID Card document-fraud challenge at IJCB 2026
FacePhi announced: Facephi runs third PAD-ID Card document-fraud challenge at IJCB 2026.
Source: facephi.com
Other · 2026-09-04
Hopae and TCC bring global eID checks to Saudi Arabia
Hopae announced: Hopae and TCC bring global eID checks to Saudi Arabia.
Source: fintech.global
Other · 2026-09-04
Identomat revamps verification journey with Mercury update
Identomat announced: Identomat revamps verification journey with Mercury update.
Source: fintech.global
Other · 2026-09-03
Yoti announces withdrawal of ID app from Spanish app stores
Yoti said it would remove its digital ID app from Spanish Apple and Android app stores starting September 10 while appealing a decision by Spain's data protection authority. The company said its concerns centered on preserving biometric security protections.
Source: Yoti
Other · 2026-09-02
OFSI announces a GBP 4.7M sanctions penalty on Citibank (imposed Aug. 11)
UK OFSI announced: OFSI announces a GBP 4.7M sanctions penalty on Citibank (imposed Aug. 11).
Source: gov.uk
Other · 2026-09-01
Fingerprint reports passing $50M in annual recurring revenue
Device intelligence company Fingerprint announced it surpassed $50 million in annual recurring revenue. The company cited growing adoption of fraud prevention and AI-agent detection tools. This is a company-reported operating milestone, not a funding round.
Source: FinTech Global
Questions about these moves
Which AI fraud prevention companies raised money in September 2026?
These are the verified Funding entries dated September 2026. They are listed by their published titles, including investments that are not described as a new round. Baselayer raises $35M Series A and announces agent identity suite. Recorded USD amount: $35,000,000. MIND raises $72M Series B for AI-native data loss prevention. Recorded USD amount: $72,000,000. Footprint raises $25M Series B to scale AI risk and compliance platform. Recorded USD amount: $25,000,000. AIUC raises $40M Series A. No USD amount is recorded on this entry. AIUC raises $40M Series A for frontier AI assurance. Recorded USD amount: $40,000,000. KPMG takes minority stake in Reality Defender. No USD amount is recorded on this entry. HelmGuard raises $7.3M Seed. No USD amount is recorded on this entry. TRM Labs announces Series C expansion at $2B valuation. No USD amount is recorded on this entry. Blee raises $20M Series A. No USD amount is recorded on this entry. Guardio raises $40M at $1.1B valuation. Recorded USD amount: $40,000,000. Guardio raises $40M at a $1.1B valuation. No USD amount is recorded on this entry. Apate.AI raises $8.15M seed for scam-disruption agents. Recorded USD amount: $8,150,000. Instarc secures €1.25M strategic investment for compliance platform. No USD amount is recorded on this entry.
What is know your agent identity?
The tracker does not publish a definition beyond its verified sources. Baselayer raises $35M Series A and announces agent identity suite (September 22, 2026, Baselayer / PR Newswire): Baselayer announced a $35 million Series A led by M13, alongside the launch of its Agentic Identity Suite for verifying and managing AI agents acting on behalf of people and businesses. Pindrop launches BotStopper to detect AI voice agents (September 16, 2026, Pindrop / GlobeNewswire): Pindrop launched a standalone offering to identify automated callers and AI voice agents in real time, supported by an AI Voice Consortium registry of more than 5,000 AI voices. DigiCert launches AI Trust Manager for agent identities (September 15, 2026, DigiCert / GlobeNewswire): DigiCert announced general availability of AI Trust Manager, a solution for discovering AI agents, establishing verifiable identities and ownership, managing authorization, and revoking trust. Ping Identity launches Enterprise Personal Agent Access (September 1, 2026, Ping Identity): Ping Identity announced Enterprise Personal Agent Access, delivered through PingOne Privilege, to discover personal AI agents, link agent sessions to users and devices, and enforce access controls at runtime in supported environments. The company said the capability was available and in enterprise pilots.
How do we verify each move?
Each published move includes a primary source link and the source name. Every row in this dataset has status verified. Rumors are not published. A USD amount is shown only when that entry records amount_usd.